Responsibility for the overall management of the Australian Institute of Building (AIB) lies with its Council.The AIB Council comprises Office Bearers, the immediate Past National President, and a nominee from each of the AIB Chapters.

The AIB National Council elected at the annual general meeting held in Brisbane on 2 September 2017 comprises:

David Burnell FAIB
National President
Graham Teede OAM FAIBNational Senior Vice President
Claire Vervaart FAIB

National Vice President
John Gaskin AM FAIBNational Vice President
Paul Heather AM FAIB
Immediate Past National President
Bill Mansell AM FAIB
New South Wales Chapter Nominee
Bob Wildermuth FAIBQueensland Chapter Nominee
Gavin Tonkin MAIBSouth Australia Chapter Nominee
Damian Rogers AM FAIB

Tasmania Chapter Nominee
Scott Reid FAIBVictoria Chapter Nominee
Tamica D’Uva MAIB

Western Australia Chapter Nominee
Robyn Hardy FAIB
Australian Capital Territory Chapter Nominee
Henry Ng FAIBHong Kong Chapter Nominee
Norman Faifer FAIB Overseas Chapter Nominee